Morso 7110B for whole house heating?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

StephB

Mar 20, 2023
Maine
Hello everyone! I've been a longtime reader of the forum but this is my first time posting. I love to read the great knowledge here and that folks are so helpful and respectful.

I am writing because I'm shopping for a new wood stove. The home I recently moved into doesn't have a wood stove now so this is a new install (my previous home had a Waterford stove). My current home, built in 2001, is a single floor, 980-square-foot open-concept manufactured home with no basement (I had spray foam insulation added to the underside of the house last year). The place is decently insulated (I live in Maine). Reading through the forums here, I had settled on a Morso 7110B (and a Thermguard to circulate air through the heat ducts - also advice I found on this forum), but when I got to the stove shop, the employees there weren't too supportive of the idea. They said the stove box is tight and that it wouldn't give off enough heat to keep my house warm, which is not the impression I had from folks here on the forum. They seem to be pushing the Hearthstone, which is catalytic (I don't want a catalytic stove) or Pacific Energy (which I know nothing about). Can anyone provide advice on whether or not the Morso 7110B will adequately heat my small house? The Morso is cheaper than the Hearthstone; from a cynical perspective, I'm wondering if they're discouraging the Morso because it costs less than the Hearthstone. Anyway, advice is much appreciated!