My Garn Corrosion Fiasco Part 1

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
How about Hydrogen Peroxide?

To the best of my knowledge O3 does destroy bacteria. UV will kill in strong dosage but it mainly disrupts the genetics of the cell to stop their reproduction capabilities.

My opinion is, the best way to eliminate bio issues is to keep pH high and O2 low.

corrosion......I am with steam man...I have many years experience with steam boilers...the first rule of thumb is if you are laying up the boiler for the non-heating season you should fill it to the top........bacterial corrosion,maybe,but if it was filled with water, it probably would not have been as bad as it was......

I remember my Dad telling me that when he did his stint in the Air Force it was a Court Martial offence not to fill up the fuel tanks of the aircraft, maybe for similar reasons?

seabee570 said:
i think the main concern with not filling fuel tanks is water would condense on the top of the tank and contaminate the fuel
I would agree 100%.

The small planes I have flown this would make sense [just a regular tank] The military helos I crewed all had collapsible blatter tanks that were self sealing.