Need help hanging a large/heavy mantle

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

beagler

Sep 9, 2007
I purchased a beautiful hand hewn walnut beam that is 10ft X 6in X 7in. I plan to hang this onto my wall studs using three 7 inch lag bolts that are 3/8 in diameter. I will counter sink them and fill in the holes with walnut dowel rods. I have never done this before, but someone told me this is a safe way to hang such a large/heavy beam. Any ideas?

I've hung a couple mantles so I'm only going by what I've done before. The first one was 1" oak with molding wrapped around the bottom. There is a void in the back so what you do is put a 2x3 or whatever on the wall with your lagbolts. Then from the top and back of the mantle you drill down into the cleat with screws. This way you can remove it easily if needed. The other mantle was more of a setup I added to the hearth, and was free-standing so I just used some construction adhesive to keep it up against the wall.

If you're handy you could chisel/rout a channel in the beam to accept a cleat, then nail/screw from the top. This way you wouldn't have the dowels on the face of the beam, but if its matching then I don't think it would look bad. It just might make it easier to move it you ever want to take it down.

Consider hollowing out a dado in the back and installing a 2x3 on the wall into the studs. Put the mantle over the 2x3 and screw from the top into the 2x3. This will leave you with no visible attachments from the front. It will also be very strong and adjustable with spacers or wedges.