need help with exterior exhaust smell issue

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Kringle

Dec 6, 2021
PA
Greetings All,

I recently moved to a home with a Harman 43-C pellet stove. I am brand new to pellet stoves. Loving it so far I have figured out most of its functions.

I just cleaned my stove - good scraping and vacuuming on the inside and cleaned out the exterior exhaust vent. I now notice a chemical smell from the outside exhaust. Not sure what this is? I have not switched pellet brands and I have no exhaust or smoke smell in the house, its just a very odd chemical smell from the exterior exhaust pipe. Can anyone help? Thanks in advance folks.

Pretty hard to diagnose over a screen…is it possible there was oil sprayed on the inside of the stove for summer storage? Some here do that to keep rust down. Other than that, maybe creosote however you said you cleaned the pipes as well. Chemical smell similar to???

Pretty hard to diagnose over a screen…is it possible there was oil sprayed on the inside of the stove for summer storage? Some here do that to keep rust down. Other than that, maybe creosote however you said you cleaned the pipes as well. Chemical smell similar to???
Thanks for the reply. I have been running the stove with no issue thus far so it could not be from oil. I'm thinking it must be creosote, it is a similar smell, I think. This is the first time I cleaned the exterior vent which has started the issue. Maybe I didn't clean it as well as I should have, it did not seem too dirty from the previous owner which is why I am a bit confused.