Need some advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

blwells45

Sep 18, 2012
Newbie here who is looking to start cheating the oil company this winter and I need your advice. I've been doing quite a bit of research into stoves and while I love the look of the cast pellets stoves like the GC60 or the M55 or the Avalon Arbor..... they are a bit outside of my price range, as far as what I've seen online and here in the forums.

So, as I've looked around these forums, it seems to me that the line that is more in my price range is the Englanders. Seems like people are generally satisfied with their performance and customer support. (If you're not, I'd like to know about it.) So, I've pretty much determined that I will be ordering an Englander of some form.

My home is a small ranch, just over 1200 sq ft. At one end of the house is a cathedral ceiling'd open floor plan "great room" that has Kitchen/dining room on one side and the living room on the other. The bedrooms and bath are on the other half of the house off of a hall down the middle. It is pretty well insulated. And is currently heated by a forced hot air oil furnace. However, the house never feels warm during the winter. My wife complains she's cold all winter but I'm a heat nazi and tell her to go put another sweater on. Which doesn't make me husband of the year, for sure. So, in part that's why I'm looking at a pellet stove in that I'm hoping that it will warm more evenly than the forced hot air.