New build, help me fill my shopping cart

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

burn_your_money

Dec 31, 2019
Northern Ontario
This is my first time building a boiler system so I'd appreciate a bit of guidance on my setup.

I have a Benjamin DO 110 indoor wood boiler hooked in series to a ARGO 20kw electric boiler. The heat dumps into ~1000 gallons of unpressurized storage through a rad submerged in the tank. There is another rad in the tank that supplies heat to my in floor loops. I'm pretty sure I want to use injection pumping with a Tekmar 365 for ODR. I need to order pumps, air eliminators etc and that is what I'm looking for advice on.

This is what I'm planning to build

My floors are 1/2 PEX embedded in 1" thick concrete that is 4" wide. Directly above that is 3/4" pine flooring. I have 4 loops.

For this year, I'm only running 1 zone. I plan to adjust flow through each loop to balance the temperatures and see how we like that.

With the Tekmar 356, do I need a thermostat and if so, what does it control? My understanding of it is that the Tekmar 356 adjusts the temperature in the floor to match outside temperatures by injecting more or less heat into the circuit. The secondary pump (0015e3) is always running.

Am I correct in using a Taco 007 (and not at 007e) for the injection pump with the Tekmar 356?

Regarding my boiler circuit, is there any advantage to using a 007e compared to the 007? What would be the best way to control this pump? I plan on running my storage from 100*F to 160*F. I don't plan on using the electric boiler except when we are away for a few days.