New burner

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Jcorcoran01

Oct 3, 2019
MT
Hello all I am very new to the wood stove world. I have never personally had one just used one at my parents on holidays and occasionally at a family cabin but never in my own home as a major heat source. Anyway I am looking to offset some of my propane usage in my home. The main floor is 1200 square ft with a 700 square ft space up stairs similar to bonus space it has knee walls.

I have a few questions if you dont mind helping me out.

First I have come across a Country Stoves ST210 for $500 which seems like a pretty good deal I think. Does anyone have experience or advise with this stove? Is it up to the task?

I have read through the manual for this stove and am not sure I understand the floor protection. It just says it needs non combustible material under and out to 16 inches in front of the door but does not mention anything about an r value. Does this mean it just needs ember protection? Suggestions on material to build with or where to buy a cheap prebuilt?

My house has a 9/12 pitch and the stove will be located in a corner in the living room which is along one exterior side of house. This will mean a tall stack outside. Has anyone had issues with having 10 feet or so of chimney outside the house causing too much or not enough draft?

Thank you so much in advance for any help you can provide.

Last edited: