New To Me MS 291

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

yinpin

Burning Hunk
Jul 25, 2016
Kingsville, MD
Hey everyone,

Saw a local guy selling a MS 291 with a 20" bar and asked if would consider trades. Up until now I have been using a Chinese Homdox saw that has served me well for what I have been up to. Started collecting wood this year and burning more and more. Ended up trading my old pump shotgun to him for the saw and feel like I got a good deal as a result.

Started right up and looks to be in good shape. Wondering if I should have it looked at or get it tuned up before using it. I have no experience with sharpening but followed a couple of threads on how to do so. Also been reading and most people have been suggesting to go with a shorter bar. Would like to have options and keep this running for ever.

Tips or maintenance recommendations are welcome. Do Stihl dealers work on all saws even if you didnt purchase it from them or are not the original owner?

02bf4b05ceb89d4f13e6746d9e85316d.jpg

Last edited: