New to pellets... Thinking Harman Allure

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

bmarleyzq8

Jan 28, 2017
Michigan
I've been heating my home for the last 10 years using an outdoor wood boiler feeding my radiant baseboards. It's proven to be very economical as I have access to all the firewood I could ever want. That came to an abrupt end this season when my boilers water jacket finally burst beyond repair due to years of corrosion. Now I'm faced with decisions. I ruled out replacing the boiler, mostly because of the 10 year lifespan of the first one and the idea of spending my falls in the woods hunting is more appealing than cutting firewood. The other option is to use my 25 year old propane fueled Weil McLain boiler and hope that propane doesn't rise too much in cost which I don't foresee being likely. So as I've lurked around these forums and spoke with friends about different options, I've began to lean toward installing a pellet stove but have some concerns. Our home is a 25 year old ranch and pretty well insulated but at 2,000 square feet I fear it might not be an effective source of heat. The stove that I'm considering is the Harman Allure. One reason is the styling(my wife doesn't like the traditional styles) but the others are the 52,000btu output, 92lb hopper and Harmans reputation for quality. Is it realistic to expect this stove to be able to heat the majority if not all of my home? I know it's kind of a loaded question but the fact is at $5,000 installed plus pellet costs, I fear I may be looking at 10 years for this thing to pay for itself. Currently I'm using about 5 gallons of propane per day to