1. Bill A

Bill A
    New Member 2.
    NULL

Oct 4, 2018
    Loc:
    Highland lakes NJ
    Hello
    New to this forum and to wood pellet burners, but not to wood stoves and coal stokers.
    I just acquired a VC Reliance 2220 from a local CL add.
    The stove seems to be in fairly good shape, feeder works, exhaust blower works, and the two distribution blowers also work.

The problem right now is that the control board is non functional.
    Now I know that these things are as rare as hen's teeth and that there are no spare parts and no documentation available for the board, so my plan is to build a new control system from a micro PLC.

My background is as a controls engineer and I previously built control systems for both my Harman Magnum and Harman VF3000 coal stoker, so I know this is a very doable task.

What I'm not sure about is the general operating parameters for this stove.

So if some of the VC pellet burners could chime in it would be a big help.

So here are the questions.

1. When running at a low firing rate, does the exhaust blower run full speed or did the controls vary the speed?
    2. How often does the feed motor run at low fire and how high are the flames when running in low?
    3. How often does the feed motor run at high fire and how high are the flames?
    4. How high are the pellets in the burn pot at low and at high fire?
    5. What kind of exhaust temperatures would you you expect to see at low and high fire?

Thanks much.
    Bill A.

RyanMcD likes this.
  2. Bill A

Bill A
    New Member 2.
    NULL

Oct 4, 2018
    Loc:
    Highland lakes NJ
    The Reliance Lives again :)

The VC Reliance is once again a working pellet stove.

The main problem with the unit was the control board. The triac that controls the feeder motor was blown along with the inline fuse that protects it.
    I replaced it with a new one from Mouser electronics and also found that a trace on the circuit board was broken that fed the local 12 volt supply.