Newbie needs some questions answered

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jmhm17

Feb 26, 2015
Massachusetts
Hello everyone, I am really new to the wood stove life and would like to learn some things. I just bought a house about a month ago and it came with a wood stove in the basement. It is a single story 1200 sq/ft ranch with an unfinished basement. the stove is located in the basement, the previous owners brother was a Mason and he built the chimney, I want to say the stove and chimney were installed around 4 years ago. I was hoping you guys could tell me what kind of stove this is. I have been reading a lot about these new EPA stoves and I dont think this one is. There is no firebrick inside of it and I run fires around 450*F according to the stove pipe burn indicator, there is a damper on the stove pipe that I keep a 1/4ish open all the time, and I regulate the fire at 450* no mater how much wood is in there with the vents on the door. I start the fire with newspaper and kindling, and once I get a good fire going I normally stuff it and check it every half hour to 45 min and add 2,3, some times 4 logs as needed. I inspected the chimney and theres no creosote buildup on the clay lining. My questions are to all of you:

How should I run this stove? Should I be using the "Burn Indicator" dial as a reference? How often should I throw wood in there to prevent the coals from just building and building? How should I set the pipe damper? and what kind of stove is this, should I add firebrick?

I have included pictures: