Oil boiler with wood add on question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Justin1972

Jun 19, 2015
Nova Scotia, Canada
Hello new to the forum, I know this has been probably beaten to death but could some of the boiler guru's take a look at my set up. This is the system I have been running for about the last 15 years it is how it was set up in the house when I bought it. It works but probably not the most efficient system. My oil boiler is leaking so I have purchased a new to me boiler that is 7 or 8 years old in very good shape. I am going to install it but was wondering if I should plumb it in differently to make it more efficient. I have the oil burner on a switch that shuts the burner off and I burn mostly wood. I found the oil came on to much ($$$$). I have one zone valve and one circulator. Wood is set to turn on circulator and open zone valve if temp goes above 220, that's my dump. Only problem during power failures have to manually open zone valve. Oil furnace is shut off during off season running electric HW heater. Domestic HW is piped through Wood then Oil to Electric all year with boiler shut down. I guess the main furnace would be oil boiler with the add on wood, just I keep the burner shut off most of time, 95%. Oil is set to 160/180 wood damper set to 200 degrees. Have an old 2 story farm house very little insulation new windows though 1600 square feet, burn 7 chords wood about 50 gallons oil.
Any Advice?

Attachments

• IMG_0262.JPG
    IMG_0262.JPG
    434 KB · Views: 172
Last edited:
Couple quickies: