osburn 1600 insert secondary tube glowing

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dakjd03

Jan 7, 2014
fountain Hill, pa
Hi, I am very new to wood heat. I have an osburn 1600 insert. The other night I was burning a load of those wood fuel bricks. I had it about two thirds full like they recommend. Up until then I only put in some and some regular wood, after about an hour I noticed the tube in the front getting red. I did a searchon here and it seems like that's normal, but I am wondering if it is for just some stoves, is it a common thing for all of them. I burned about a cord of wood so far and it didn't happen with the regular wood.

you know your burning good if its glowing (tubes only). But be careful with using just them bricks. Easy to overfire the insert.

Thanks, just wanted to make sure. I don't think I'll be using those bricks some anymore. I figured I'd try them and see if they were worth it just to finish this year off. I'm a little unsure about buying another full cord, I made the mistake of trusting the last guy, turns out it wasn't as good as it should have been.

Reactions: turbo-power
you will have a hek of a time finding actual seasoned wood from a dealer, especially now. You can always mix the bricks with the less than seasoned wood

It is scary first time when you get those air tubes glowing. Same thing happened to me I had four of Eco Bricks in when I got the tubes glowing first time, that's when I saw the full potential of my insert. Now I try to accomplish it every time I burn.