P61a smoke in hopper

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

mountainmike

Jan 30, 2019
Western Maryland
Hi folks,

I've been running a P61A for the last 15 years.

This year everytime I check the hopper when it is low I've got smoke in it. I have had this problem before, but it was always seemed to go away. Not so this year.

I did a thorough cleaning a couple of weeks ago and pulled the slideplate- it had some residue on it. I cleaned it and reinstalled it. Still getting the smoke in the hopper.

I have noticed that it seems to happen when the burnout has a lot of ashes and needs scraped. If I scrape the burnpot and then crack open the hopper and let it sit for a minute it sucks out all of the smoke.

My stove doesn't have the crossover tube installed, so I think I'll be doing that soon.

How difficult is it to install the crossover tube? Do I have to pull the stove?

Thanks!

Mike

Reactions: Ssyko
Better check your auger and auger tube, metal could be compromised

You need to make sure the slide plate is operating properly and fully closing. Empty the hopper and run it in test mode and watch the slide plate. Fines box is empty correct?

I have worked on everything on my stove over the years, except the auger/auger tube. To do this, I just pull the auger and check the tube, right?

If there is a hole there, what is the repair process?

If the auger tube is comprimised, you can hopefully have it welded.

Kit is easy to install, couple measurements, two holes, RTV fittings in place connect hose.