Pacific Energy Neo 2.5 set in alcove question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

cuda

Oct 30, 2017
Maryland
This is my first time posting after perusing this forum for about a year. I have leaned a lot from many of you. I'm finally going to pull the trigger and rip out our builder's grade prefab fireplace and turn the exterior chimney chase into an alcove. Since we only have about 48.5" side to side clearance, we are opting for the Pacific Energy Neo 2.5, which has a side to side to combustibles clearance requirement of 45". The stove will be in our living room with a cathedral ceiling, which also opens to the upstairs loft. We have a ceiling fan in the living room, so that should come in useful.

Anyway, I have a couple questions regarding some of the options for the stove. We like the fact that we can store wood underneath the stove. We were initially thinking about getting an outside air adapter and a circulating fan for the stove, but reading the installation manual it seems like you would then need to run the outside air adapter down vertically (vs. horizontally) and require some heat shield for the air adapter vent. Would this shield nix our idea of storing wood underneath? I don't have any dimensions for how far back the shield would go. Also, would the fan even make a material difference for our alcove configuration? If yes, how 'noisy' is the fan? And would you also definitely recommend I get the outside air adapter (my assumption is a resounding yes, but thought I'd ask)?

Thanks so much in advance for your help!