Pellet Stove Exhaust Under Wood Decking

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

medrestore

Jan 24, 2022
georgia
I want to install a pellet stove in the basement, where the exhaust will come off the stove, go up about 2' turn and go out of the wall with a 2' piece. The problem is the decking above that spot. To clear the deck, I would need to go up 2' and then out about 8 '.
If I use double wall 4" pipe, is this distance okay or would this be a fire hazard

As long as you maintain proper clearance I see no problem

Granted I have zero pellet stove experience, I'd want to be able to see the exhaust. Why? Because trouble often shows at the exhaust. Having it under a deck (even if code compliant) prevents one from doing that. So why not add a 90 degree and exhaust above the deck.

Horizontal for 8 feet? That sounds like a very bad idea.
If going that far horizontal, it's important to have it at least tilt uphill. If it exits under the deck, and it's just a short horizontal to there, you may well get sparks exiting -- not generally the hottest, but still sparks. Assuming you're not using the deck in heating season, what about putting a hatch in it and putting a vertical pipe up through, which can be removed in deck season. I can't imagine you want to be up on a deck with smoke rising through the boards anyway.

It would be helpful if you shared some pictures of the deck at the location you want to install the pipe.

I like whit's idea of the hatch. During the heating season have it come out and then up through the deck and up for a ways above it.