Pellet Stove Recommendations?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

DKNJ

Sep 14, 2007
Newbie here. I am looking to put a second pellet stove in my house. I currently have a Whitfield Profile 20 in a downstairs 'great' room, which the only source of heat in the room. I am very happy with the Whitfield overall (this will be the 4th season with it), although I did have to replace the starter/glowstick when the first one failed, fortunately it was still under warranty.
My house runs natural gas, and we obviously pay through the nose when the bill comes from October through May (located in SouthEastern NY State). I am contemplating adding a second pellet stove to the main floor of my house, I have a good location picked out which will blow heat to the main floor and the upper floor (bedrooms). My other half isnt thrilled with the idea, but is willing to go with my plan as long as the stove is a>quiet and b>somewhat decorative.

I know that wood stoves are quiet and can be decorative, but I already buy pellets and I dont want to get involved with stacking pellet bags and wood, and I prefer the heat/blower settings available with pellet stoves.

Anyone have any recommendations? The area to be heated is probably a bit less than 1000 sq ft.

Thanks

I find the Thelin pellet stoves particularly attractive and certainly out of the norm for looks. No idea on noise levels though.

Hi,

Sounds like your situation is not all that dissimilar to mine. Just this year I added a Harman P61 stove to heat the finsihed basement, but in the main part of our house we have a Hastings St Croix