Quadrafire Castile Insert with Google Nest thermostat

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

david594

Nov 28, 2019
Cheshire, CT
Hi, I'm a newbie to the Hearth.com forums but I just wanted to be able to share my experiences connecting a Nest theromstat to a Quadrafire pellet stove insert. ( and if you are wondering, i did read the threads from 2wire regarding this topic)

Summer 2018 my wife and I bought a house in a subdivision that didnt have natural gas available. As such we decided to purchase a pellet stove for "supplemental heat" and ended up with a Quadrafire Castile Pellet Stove Insert. Our math indicated for every 5$ we spent in pellet we were replacing ~ $15 in equivalent electric baseboard heat.

The stove is thermostat controlled via a "milivolt" thermostat. And all this means is that off is an open circuit and on is a closed circuit.

For the first year I had my Nest Thermostat(powered via the AC side of the thermostat) controlling a 24vac solid state relay to control H1 of heating via the pellet stove. This was a good option as it could rudentarily turn on and off the pellet stove. The flaw with this was that it was unable to control the output and requiremed me to set the output manually on the stove via the rocker switch. As such the stove being on low at night, would be inadequate to warm the house in the morning in a reasonable amount of time the following morning.

Initial setup: