Running oil AND pellets at the same time?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
So I recently purchased my first home and in it there is a pellet stove (Harman Advance) as well as oil heat.

My question is, should I have them both on at the same time?

Should I run the oil heat at a lower temp such at 15C so that the house never dips below that in the event the pellet stove goes off. Or should I commit to the pellets and turn the oil heat off while the stove is on.

This is my first time useing any heat source other the electrical

Last edited:
my furnace is set at 60::F just in case i run out of pellets or stove goes out. pellet stove is set to 70::F must keep the warden warm;)

Reactions: MatthewWickwire
That is the proper way to do it...keep both systems operational in the event you have a issue with one or the other.

Reactions: MatthewWickwire
I run My old Whitfield pellet stove and my oil forced air furnace at the same time. The pellet stove isn't controlled by a thermostat, I run it 24/7 at the lowest setting. The pellet stove on its own will keep the main part of the house at 60F. The oil furnace makes up for the rest of the temperature, I like to keep my house at 65F.

Before I started using the pellet stove, I used to burn about 600 gallons of oil a year, now I burn about 150 gallons a year.

I have a back bedroom that is far from the furnace and the pellet stove, it gets heat from the oil furnace, but it is cooler than the rest of the house. I augment the heat in that bedroom with a couple of desktop computers.

And Welcome to the Forums Matt :)