scrounging question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sgcsalsero

Feeling the Heat
Mar 15, 2006
ClevelandRocks
So I have been doing the bike commute thing for a few months now. The other day, while cutting thru the back area of a school close to work I notice a huge trunk (at least 36" dia.) in a pile of brush. Upon further investigation, there is between 4-6 cords of incredibly dried out hardwood, mostly in pole length, mostly off the ground, and very accessible (gravel road). It is so gray it looks petrified and there are weeds growing up and around a lot of it; no rot on inspection, looks hard as granite. Today I found out the school has an urban forestry program and got two phone numbers.

So how do I approach these guys? "Hey I work a few hundred yards away and wondered if I could come onto school property and help myself." I can just see them turning me down just based on the fact that if I hurt myself bucking their apt to think I'll sue the school. I guess the best I can come up with is "Hey, how 'bout a donation to your forestry program and I'll sign whatever waiver you put in front of me." Maybe I need to ask the principal or facilities manager instead, no idea.

If I scored this stuff it would put me -at least- a year ahead of production, I wouldn't have to touch any of what I stacked this year.

Thanks

Just call, be pleasant, and ask if you can collect up the wood for firewood. Offer to do it after school hours or on the weekend. Don't bring up any liability stuff. If they do, tell them you have all the safety equipment.

wahoowad said: