Should I buy used 08 Quadrafire Mt. Vernon AE?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

IrishMountain

Oct 30, 2021
South Eastern Pennsylvania
I’m looking at buying a used stove but I’m completely new to stoves and what “good” condition looks like. The sellers says it’s in good condition but I thought I’d ask here rather than take their word for it. Here are some pictures of the 08 Mount Vernon AE. Let me know what you think. They are asking $2000 for it. Thanks!

7D080CFA-F972-4B8E-BEDD-43925FF9B7E0.jpeg 5DA92B21-43A7-4E72-9FD2-144403CD0348.jpeg 13884552-625F-4DDD-BD76-BF8CAE92C42F.jpeg

Last edited:
The price seems high for a 2008 model. At this age, the stove could be nearing end of life, unless it has been well taken care of and you know how to keep it going. I am not familiar with that model, so I don't know how easy it is to get parts or how expensive they are . If replacements parts are too expensive it may not be worth it. If the metal is rusted out, cracked or warped I would pass.

Have you seen it in person? Does it run? Can the owner run it outside for a bit?

If it still runs and it looks good, and you really want it, I would counter with $1000 and see if you can meet somewhere in between. Best case scenario everything works and you just need to spend some cash on new gaskets. Worst case scenario, both fan motors are bad, the computer board is bad and you have to spend cash on them. Worst worst case is you take it home and find bad rust in the exchange tubes or a crack in the burn box somewhere.