Siding Contractors for Energy Upgrade Research

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

TabithaPNNL

Jul 15, 2022
Cocoa, FL
I’m a technician with a national lab working on a residential research project that aims to validate adding ext c.i. during siding replacement (more here: https://www.pnnl.gov/projects/re-siding-ext-insulation). An aspect of my job is to engage siding contractors to partner with us on this project, as a big part of the research is finding out from siding contractors how realistic this approach is from both the technical and marketing sides. We’re aiming for 3 to 5 siding contractors in each of these regions:
  • Buncombe County, NC
  • Charles County, MD
  • Essex County, NJ
I’ve attached our contractor one-pager for anyone curious about benefits and expectations – but here are my main questions:
  1. What is the best way to reach contractors right now?
  2. Is there a method of getting my foot in the door (so to speak) enough so that I can explain that that we aren’t trying to sell them a product in any way, or convince them of anything? Really just trying to offer a free energy upgrade to homeowners and have contractors install it, so that we can gather data to present to the Department of Energy.
  3. Contractor recs in the area?
I am planning on sending out a postcard to companies we’ve identified in our target regions (also attached), but any and all advice/recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• Contractor One Pager.v4.pdf
    873.6 KB · Views: 100
  • ResidingContractorPostcardV2.pdf
    1.2 MB · Views: 103