Solar kiln/greenhouse, woodshed plans

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Easy Livin’ 3000

Minister of Fire
Dec 23, 2015
SEPA
I've been collecting sliding glass doors and windows for the last several years, with plans to build a greenhouse to start my seedlings in the spring for our large garden. I had the idea recently to use the back (north side) of the greenhouse to stack and dry our firewood and add thermal mass, against the rear (north) wall. The greenhouse will run east-west so that it gets maximum sunlight. And I should have plenty of space under the glass along the south side to grow all the seedlings that we will need.

Additionally, I bought enough treated landscape timbers (the ones that are cores left over from making plywood) to built a pole frame for a open sided woodshed, 8x8x16, but have decided that 8x8x24 would be a more efficient use of materials, and we will use the space. I'm going to pour concrete footings and anchor the timbers down at the corners and 8 ft intervals. Still working out the roof.

I've been watching CL for some time for steel for the roof of the woodshed, but haven't found any yet.

Any thoughts on either structure?

Given the weather extremes we have all been seeing lately, I think a better sealed up more weather protection wood curing/ storage solution is a good idea for many. I am just trying to keep up at my place.