Summer Prep For Pellet Boiler

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pearlset79

Hearth Supporter
Nov 19, 2008
Plattsburgh, NY
hello all....now that i am near the end of my pellets and will be using my oil boiler for hot water in the summer. how do people prep their boilers for the summer?? obviously a good cleaning of everything.....but i have heard some people put cat litter in the ashpan to minimize moisture?? also maybe covering the outside vent to decrease moisture?? any other ideas to help keep the stove in the best shape possible?? would love any suggestions since this is my first year doing this.....thanks.......

there was another post about this a month or so ago, not sure where it is but here is the main points I got.
-clean the firebox
-clean the chimney
-cap the chimney
-test the water for rust protection
-clean all pellet storage and feed areas
-spray the fire box, heat exchangers and any other bare metal with a presevative oil.
some like DW40 (actually a penetrant oil) I bought some PB blaster metal protector product from home depot, and some MP metal protector from Amsoil, I plan on spraying different sides of the fire box with different products to see which is better. You want something that forms a waxy coating on the metal to stop rust.
Some have mentioned putting a box of baking soda in the fire box to remove moisture, I don't know if this is needed. I wouldn't do the cat litter in the fire box itself, maybey in a pan in the fire box.