Thermostat or Manual???

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jbooks

Dec 10, 2009
central,md
I'm a newbie. We just installed a Enviro Omega and it is working great. The dealer said it is better just to use the manual setting. He said it was unecessary to install a thermostat. After reading lots of posts on this forum which is better? Does the manual setting use more pellets?

Are you using it to heat your house or as suplemental heat? I'm heating my house with the pellet stove and I think the remote programmable t-stat is the way to go. Mine is set at 58 overnight and while at work and 68 in the morning and while we're home at night - all you have to think about is putting in pellets.

PS - running an Enviro M-55 on auto-off.

For me, the therm mode (hi-low) works great in the fringe heating months. Now that it's cold -3F right now it's running full blast anyway. during the fringe months the thermostat saved me alot of money on pellets compared to years of running with no thermostat.

The stove is on the ground floor and we are using it to heat that floor and the one above. We have 3 floors and 3750 sg ft.The second floor we use our heat pump set at 65. The ground floor is 72 and the first floor is 74. We have turned off the heat pump for the first floor completely. We just leave the fan on the furnace. I set the stove on 2 or 3.

jbooks said: