Thinking about wood furnace

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Rairdog

Jan 19, 2020
Elwood, IN
Hey all, new here. I just bought a house and moved in but the furnace is shot. Living with Mr. Heater buddy heaters, elec space heaters and propane salamanders..lol. Washing machine froze up today...you get the picture. I am a contractor, mostly finish carpenter of 40 years, but can build a house from ground up except for charging an AC and installing high eff furnace. I can break duct and fab plenum.

Anyhow the house is 2200 sf but I don't need to heat 1/2 of it to a comfortable temp. The attached garage is 24x40 with truss' at 12 ft. I was thinking of a wood furnace in the garage that could dump heat when I get the wood shop set up. The garage also would let me duct directly into the both levels really easy and to the main areas I want to heat. I could also build controlled temp room if needed to house the unit.

I was looking at the Shelter's at Menards and reading reviews which seem to suck and it led me to this forum. I would appreciate any advice or links to help me research the wood furnace option. Easy blower replacement and the less pc boards that fry the better. Thanks in advance...RD

Check with the local inspecting authority. Most jurisdictions do not permit a wood burner in a garage. Also check with the insurance company. They may except this if it is in its own utility room.

I will check the code...previous owner had a wood burner in the garage and there is still a boot. I was trying to avoid $2500 in b vent stack going through 2nd story inside house plus have garage heat.