Tig Welding - Cup - Tungsten size - filler rod type - Pre flow & Post flow Argon or mix? - Any Tips or Tricks??

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Don2222

Minister of Fire
Feb 1, 2010
Salem NH
Hello
Have a little down time so I scored a new TiG.
Lot to learn here!
The Vulcan Pro Tig 205 was on and off sale all winter! So the last night of the last sale, I did the $100 off pre sale with an extra 10% off by getting the HF credit card. Then I had to wait one month for it to come in! Just in time for my Bday! LOL
So this is my very first attempt for mild steel to practice.
I set the mode from AC to DC Tig with pulse on @ 120 Amps - cup size 5 - Using a filler rod ER70S-2 diameter 1/16" holding the 3/32” tungsten 1/16" from the work piece with torch in left hand and filler rod in right hand and pressing down on the foot peddle with 100% argon approx 15 psi pre flow of 0.3 secs and post flow of 3.0 secs!!
I think next time I will try a larger cup size of #6 or #7 and since the #17 torch & hose felt a little stiff and cumbersome to hold, I ordered a super flex hose from www.usaweld.com
TIG Torch Super-Flex Cables
Also I want to get some Pyrex cups. Are they easier to work with??
This is quite a bit different than MIG but since I do not have to keep up with the wire speed and I can control the torch, foot peddle and dab the filler rod at a slower speed, I might be able to do it. LOL
Also I heard a 50/50 Argon / helium mix is better for Aluminum with an ER4043 - 3/32” filler rod and AC mode is a must?
What is needed to braze cast iron?
Any Tungsten Inert Gas or TIG experts here?Any tips or tricks?