Trying to size a boiler and storage tank

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Richardin52

Hearth Supporter
Mar 28, 2008
A farm in Maine
Hi all

I have been heating my house since I built it 19 years ago with a wood boiler. Back then I bought a second hand Memco MW-100 (120,000 BTU’s) This boil is very inefficient and it’s time for a new one. I had no back up heat until about two years ago when I put an oil boiler beside it (big mistake) and it may be coming back out. The wood boiler heats the house well unless it was say 20 below zero or colder then it worked hard but would do the trick if I fed it enough wood.

I want to get a new boiler and I’m thinking a Tarm or an Eko. Now for the hard part. We also have three large unheated greenhouses that we grow crops in. We stop selling out of these houses in December and Starting planting cold weather crops again in late February. When the sun is out this time of year they heat up very well (as does the house) cool down quick when the sun goes down.