UPS backup power

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

easternbob

Nov 29, 2007
Central NY
A recent posting and then a blip in power last night got me thinking about uninterruptible power supplies. I'm new to these things, so speak slowly and clearly.
What brand and models are people using? What kind of run times could I expect to see if I'm just running the pump (and controller) on my EKO 25? Would it be possible to run the pump and blower for any length of time?
Thanks,
Bob

I run an APC 1500 UPS on my system. It will easily run pump and blower for 1-2 hours, if not longer. Got mine used....

Hey Bob,

I have an Eko 25, I have a power inverter w/ built in charger and transfer switch. With one deep cycle battary I can power my whole system for 8+ hours. The inverter is a true-sine so I don't worry about messing up any of my TekMar controllers.

I just had installed a 400 watt inverter from napa along with two relays and hooked up to a battery. Cost of everything is about $150 and it is fully automatic. Not sure what my run time is but will soon test. I will add additional batteries later to extend run time. My dad installed with the help of a drawing from an electrician. If you can find an electrical supply store that sells the relays and will draw you a diagram you can do it for this price as well. Its an easy hookup as long as you know where the wires go. Saves you from buying the fully autmatic inverters that start around $250 for the cheapos