VC Montpelier - impressed during this brutal cold

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

SculptureOfSound

Feeling the Heat
Sep 9, 2017
Wisconsin, USA
VC tends to get a bad rap around here and I'm sure it's mostly justified, but I have to say the Montpelier is proving to be an impressive insert. It's my first year with it and I wasn't sure how it would do once it got real cold.

I have it installed in an exterior fireplace (blockoff plate but no insulation in firebox) at the far end of our long 1550sf ranch and it kept up admirably in this cold. At 0f outside I had the stove room up to 79, far end of the house was about 70.

It has dipped to -10f now and stove room is 75 far rooms are about 64. That is without running it super hard and with 3/4 loads of pine spaced about 4 hours apart (partial reloads on quite a few coals).

One thing I do that makes a huge difference is I run a 200cfm fan on top of one of our bookshelves (about a foot from the ceiling) in the stove room blowing heat towards the bedroom hall. I found this works better than blowing cold air the other way (not 100% sure why but multiple tests have confirmed this).

The montpelier is a very good stove without a doubt

I think their downdraft stoves have the rep..your stove is a basic tube stove, right?