What happened to the Harman Oakwood?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

b-rider

Dec 10, 2019
Orange, CT
I've been heating my home for the past 10 yrs with my Oakwood with the grill insert on top (yes, it RULES!), but I have been absent from this forum for several years, and just learned thru another un-related forum that Harmon doesn't even sell freestanding wood stoves anymore. What gives? Am I right? Was there something wrong with this stove? Mine has been doing well.....

Welcome back! Good to hear that your stove continues to please. The Oakwood was a troublesome design, like the Lopi Leyden. If everything was right with draft and in the hands of an experienced wood burner, it could be a nice heater. But in the hands of a new wood burner it could be a hassle, especially if the wood was poorly seasoned.

Harman was bought up by HHT which didn't need more freestanding wood stoves. (HHT also now owns Vermont Castings.) The Harman line is now focused on pellet stoves and fireplaces.

I've been heating my home for the past 10 yrs with my Oakwood with the grill insert on top (yes, it RULES!), but I have been absent from this forum for several years, and just learned thru another un-related forum that Harmon doesn't even sell freestanding wood stoves anymore. What gives? Am I right? Was there something wrong with this stove? Mine has been doing well.....

That sounds awesome. Give us some pictures of you grilling something!

I hope they still sell parts if i ever need any. My TL-300 also has the grill option. Although i have the grill iv never tried it.