Winston Pellet Stoves

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

man-machine

Dec 23, 2009
Western Colorado
I'm a newb site member and yeah, I did a search before posting a new topic. When I Googled "Winston Pellet Stoves" I saw a question posted by someone and it directed me to this forum. Now I can share my grief of my Winston WP-24 Pellet Stove.

I didn't buy this sorry piece of junk, it came with the house I bought in 1998. It heats my 24' by 32' garage (machine shop). This thing has been nothing but a nonstop headache from day one but I've never had the money to replace it and I still don't. It began with overfeeding and pellet pileup on both high and low burn. Completely cleaned the heat exchanger section, got the draft set right, replaced the door seal, and set the programmable combustion controler to the factory settings of 36 seconds "off" and feed settings of 6 & 8 seconds for low and high burn.

It still doesn't make very good heat. The burn flame is perfect, 6" high and not too relaxed or frantic. It's like te heat exchanger section just isn't tranfering heat well. I can put my hand right in front of it and it's not overly hot like it should be. I talked to Vern at Edwards & Sons and he said the room blower fan may be dirty. That could be but it still seems like even a reduced amount of airflow should still be roasting hot regardless. With an outside temp of 20F it will only raise 768 sq. ft. of fully insulated garage to about 54F after 24 hours on high burn. I'm running out of repair ideas. :( ... m-m