Wood boiler tank minus the boiler with a heat pump

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Even though I manufacture unpressurized tanks for a living, it has taken me six months to finally put together one of our tanks in my basement.
The wood boiler will show up later. It is a 345 gallon tank that is rectangular. We do not normally produce this type of tank, but the floor space is limited and even though it takes me a while, I can do custom tanks.
The 345 gallon size is based on upon our heat load of about 6000 btus/hr at -10F. The house is mostly R-65 foam and I have a tiny Jotul QT100, which always overheats the house when I use it.

So, the concept is to use a small wood boiler with the tank to buffer the heat load.

The summertime plan (for now) is to use a Nyle Corp. heat pump water heater to heat the tank. This dehumidifies the basement and also air conditions the
first floor of the house. A solar system we are working on will go in next year.

We have our regular DHW heat exchanger in the tank to feed the household. We used it for testing this week at the shop. It was in a 150 gallon tank that was heated to 180F and then delivered 224 gallons of hot water(110F) at 3 gallons per minute. Once the testing was done, I got it.

It will take 28 hours to heat the tank since the heat pump only puts out about 6,000 btus/hr.

BUT the basement is drying out and it is already cooler upstairs! Great news since the rainy season is over and the several days of summer are upon us!

Tom

Attachments

• P1020128.jpg
    P1020128.jpg
    69.5 KB · Views: 741
Tom,