1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

13nc and liner install question about stove hook up...

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by cruzer, Sep 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cruzer

    cruzer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    CT
    Saturday I got my liner put in (Thanks chimney liner depot!!) great product for the DIY kind of guy. My FIL came over in the afternoon to help get the liner put down the chimney and it went very smoothly. The only issue was at the smoke shelf which I knew I was going to have. We had chipped and ground out a bunch of the brick to make sure it would fit and it did. The problem now is that the liner and the stove don't line up(see picture below). The plan was to push the stove all the way back into the fireplace (only 13inches deep) and this would give me the clearence on the front for the hearth(16inches min) though i do have 1-2 inches i can play with on the front. I am thinking the way to go is the pull the liner back up into the chimney a bit and then add some kind of connector down to the stove to help take up the offset and the angle. Right now i have an Apliance adpter at the bottom of my chimney liner and would like to just hook up to that...but understand if i need to take it off...

    The two choices i have seen are either an offset box for and insert (http://chimneylinerdepot.com/store/comersus_viewItem.asp?idProduct=64) or one of these (http://chimneylinerdepot.com/store/comersus_viewItem.asp?idProduct=363)

    Do you have any better suggestions or other suggestions?

    Thanks for your help.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Corie

    Corie Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,430
    Loc:
    Halifax, VA
    It almost looks like a 30 degree elbow and pushing the liner up the chimney a little bit might do the job.....hard to say though.


    On an unrelated side note, I didn't design that stove, but I did design that door, hope you like it!
  3. Hanko

    Hanko Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    795
    Loc:
    livingstion co, Michigan
    I have neverunderstood why folks want to put the stove in the old firepalce. It seems it would work much better out in the open.
  4. Hiram Maxim

    Hiram Maxim Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,058
    Loc:
    SE Michigan
    If you have that option..........some do not.

    I know for myself it was a matter of room. With a blower IMHO it does a fine job
    . But if I had to do it over I would have tried to leave it freestanding instead of placing it in the fireplace.
  5. cruzer

    cruzer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    CT
    It's all about having that option. I really didn't even consider a free standing stove in the center of my living room. It's basicly our "play room" for the kids (2yr and 1yr) so the other 6 months out of the year it would just be "in the way".


  6. cruzer

    cruzer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Loc:
    CT
    Yup so far so good. Comes off easy to move help lighten the stove while moving it around:) Now if i can only find what the wife did with my spring handles I will be all set...all I remember at this point is her asking me "Are these things important" about 2-3 months ago...

    Stew
  7. Tfin

    Tfin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    556
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    Even though the manual says you need 16" in front of the stove, I believe that's been up'd to 18"

    Someone correct me if I'm wrong here.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page