2 BK Princess Insert or 2 Osburn 2200 insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

rook_ki

Mar 2, 2013
Hi Everyone,
Newbie here. Been lurking, reading, and learning for a few weeks. I'm in central MA. I was thinking of purchasing 2 wood inserts. I've got 3 issues that I'm hoping this forum can help me.
1. From a maintenance point, will operating be overwhelming? I mean, will I be a slave to the inserts.
2. Does anyone know of a local contractor that can be recommended for the BKs? The closest dealer is 1.5 hrs away and he has no interest in travelling the distance for installation.
3. Base on previous posts, the BK seems to be a better product in term of burn time and maintaining constant temperature. The BK is $3200/each. For about the same amount, I can have the Osburn installed. I do not mind paying extra if the BK is truly a better product. I'm on the fence. Can someone please give me a nudge one way or the other? Thank you.

Rook

Couple of questions. Are you going to be heating full time with both of them? If so, Is an outdoor stove or something else a possibility? How is your house setup? The BK is a great stove with very good performance and burn times, but keeping the house full of seasoned wood and loading, cleaning and maintaining 2 stoves by yourself would not be a first choice for me.