1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

2012-2013 Blaze King Performance Thread(everything BK)

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by rdust, Oct 29, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rdust

    rdust Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795
    Loc:
    Michigan

    Why do you have the bypass opened when the cat is still active? It's sounds like there is still some fuel for it to eat. I'm not sure why you want to waste potential heat up the pipe. Personally I don't open the bypass until I'm ready to reload.

    Where the did advice come from not to open the door when the cat is still too active? I'll open my door at any point as long as I bypass the cat for a few minutes first. If I waited for the cat to be room temperature before opening the door I'd never be able to time loading the stove.

    This is why I like this thread you get to see how others have success running their stove.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Beetle-Kill

    Beetle-Kill Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,849
    Loc:
    Colorado- near the Divide
    rdust- I had the bypass open because I was ready to reload, but the stove wasn't. I was tired and knew the remaining fuel in the stove wasn't going to carry it until morning, so I just sped things up.
    I don't like to open the door unless the temp. is right at the active mark. I may be silly, but I don't want to let room temp. air hit the Cat and cause possible warpage.
  3. ohlongarm

    ohlongarm Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    723
    Loc:
    Northeastern Ohio
    If you open the bypass you will not do any damage to the cat when the stove door is opened.
  4. nate379

    nate379 Guest

    The BK stoves can be dialed back to a pretty low temp, BUT there is a limit. It will certainly depend on the location, install, house size, insulation, etc.

    My house is about 1400 sq/ft single story and I guess well insulated/sealed. I have no trouble keeping my house in the 70s with -25* outdoor temps with the stove running around 1.5 on the dial.

    With temps in the 30s I have to make small fires (3-4 cottonwood splits) for the stove to run ok and to not overheat the house. If I just loaded it completely full it would hit 90*+ in the house without trouble, OR I'd have to choke it down to where it's barely burning and turning the firebox into a nasty creosote mess.

    It's been in the 40s (yeah... :eek:) for the last couple days and I let the stove go cold. Easier for me to spend a few $$s to run the boiler an hour or two than mess with the stove. Don't have a great draft and it's way too easy to overheat the house. IMO just amount to wasting firewood.
  5. Highbeam

    Highbeam Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    9,094
    Loc:
    base of Mt. Rainier on the wet side, WA
    We're just about always between 35 and 45 outdoor temps and I load the stove to the gills everyday. Only a 1700 SF rambler with updated windows, crawl, and attic insulation but some most walls still have relatively low insulation levels. Anyway, the stove is great at keeping the temps up with a constant burn at stat setting of 1.75 and 24 hour reloads. If it's closer to freezing then 24 hour burns are not quite enough to keep us in the 70s and I need to throw some more wood in the box and bump the stat to 2 for awhile.

    My wood is pretty low btu stuff, no hickory here, but I just don't understand how anybody can let the stove go cold when it hits 40. I'll be burning well into June when temps are into the 50-60 range so long as I want a house in the 70s.
  6. nate379

    nate379 Guest

    *SIGH* <>


    Like I said, it all depends on location, house size, insulation, etc, etc, etc.

    It sounds like your trying to heat the equivalent of a screen room. Of course you will have to run the stove hard, even at warm outside temps!...How is that hard to understand?!

    At 30* outside temp, I will make a small fire a day and it's plenty to keep my house in the 70s.



    I heat my house on 3-3.5 cords of firewood a winter... "winter" being over 6 months (Oct-Apr)

    Heating degree days for Tacoma ~ 4,900
    Heating degree days for Palmer ~ 10,500

    Think just maybe that my house is insulated a bit better?
  7. Highbeam

    Highbeam Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    9,094
    Loc:
    base of Mt. Rainier on the wet side, WA
    I burn 9 months out of the year, september to april since our temps are so mild. The house is not a screen room, I've sealed and insulated everything but the remaining walls to "modern" levels. Still an older house but I suppose your home in AK is smaller and built that much better. You really do have a tight house Nate, that's a good thing in AK.

    You're the one member who seems to live in a coleman cooler. Construction so far above average that your results are extraordinary and do not jive with the rest.

    Sorry to make you sigh.
  8. hack

    hack New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    72
    Thanks for the reassurance! All seems to be ok.

    Pretty sure the bottom lip was glowing slightly, nothing obvious though. Funny you mention the deformed bar. I noticed that a week or so ago when I had my stove pipe apart to seal the joints with furnace cement. Couldn't remember what it looked like new. Is that common? I looked the stove over good this morning when it had cooled down and everything except that bar looked normal! I'll try your suggestions out.

    For sure! I'll try to avoid that in the future. I wish I knew what temp it reached. Guess I'll have to pick up a IR.

    I'd like to hook a manometer up and see what my draft is. Wondering if that is why it got so hot on 2.5.

    Thanks again for all the input. It is very much appreciated!
  9. HotCoals

    HotCoals Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Loc:
    Rochester,Ny.
    ok so I loaded the stove around 10:30 tonight.
    Charred and did all that..shut her down to 1 as usual, a hour later and the hot spot in front of the probe had dropped to 425 from a high of 500.
    Very little glow from the wood and cat.
    At this point I usually turn the air up to re char if I see this happening..not tonight..I waited to see what it would do.

    Now I check it (1:00) and the hot spot is at 625 and the cat is bright red and the glow from the wood is way brighter,
    no wind tonight.
    Must be the wood started to out gas better on it's own and got the cat going stronger.
    With the cat hotter I swear it drafts more and therefore makes the wood burn a little faster..there is for sure way more glow around the wood...t-stat is still shut since it is on 1.
  10. Beetle-Kill

    Beetle-Kill Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,849
    Loc:
    Colorado- near the Divide
    Lazy T-stat coil is all I can figure. Mine does the same thing, but at a higher setting(2).
    Check and see if your "High" temp drops, then climbs back up.
  11. HotCoals

    HotCoals Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,218
    Loc:
    Rochester,Ny.
    My t-stat is set on 1..it did not move and at 1 I don't think it will even open at room temp..lazy aint the word..lol.

    It did drop...after reload it went to 500 then dropped to 425 over a couple hours..then it hit 625..awhile ago.
    Just looked again and still holding steady now at 625.
    I do think it almost stalled at 425 but then picked up on it's own from the wood out gassing.
    I know the t-stat never opened.
    Putting out some nice heat now!
  12. Beetle-Kill

    Beetle-Kill Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,849
    Loc:
    Colorado- near the Divide
    I keep hearing the phrase-"set it and forget it" run through my head, and yet,.....o_O

    damn voices.
  13. nate379

    nate379 Guest

    I was posting in reply to the feller that was talking about having it too hot in his basement with the current woodstove he has.

    The stove can only be choked down so much, plain and simple.

    On low let's say it's pushing 15,000btu an hour. (23,000,000 btu on a cord of birch, stove holds ~1/50th of a cord... 460,000 btu, then figure a 24hr burn and 80% efficient, comes out to ~15k)

    If the house has a heat loss of less than 15k/hr, than the temp will rise.

    The heat loss of MY house when it's warm out (30s-40s) is less than what the stove puts out on low.




  14. Seasoned Oak

    Seasoned Oak Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,663
    Loc:
    Eastern Central PA
    I cant burn on sunny days as i have some passive solar and unless its below 35 on cloudy days the house gets too hot on the lowest air setting. Even though its 3000 SF on 3 floors.
    But i would not give up that large firebox as i dont like to be loading the stove all the time
  15. claybe

    claybe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Loc:
    Colorado
    She got away from me! I loaded the princess opened the damper and set to high tsat to get the fire going. Went upstairs so things could warm up and forgot what I was doing. I turned to my wife and said what is that smell!?! Ran dow stairs to find the stove roaring at 800 degrees stovetop and the cat was at 6:00 or 75 % of making a full circle!!! Yikes. I closed it down and turned it to low. It took some time, but she came down. Now my chimney cap is a brownish color. Should I be worried about anything? And, If you are reloading, DON'T LEAVE YOUR STOVE ALONE!!!
  16. Todd

    Todd Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Loc:
    Lake Wissota
    Been there, done that. I don't think 800 is too bad, the stove should be able to take that for a short time especially in the bypass mode.
  17. nate379

    nate379 Guest

    Wanted to put some numbers down

    Decided to make a small fire this afternoon at 2PM. Shut the boiler off last night and was 63* in the house, 38* outside. 3 small splits of cottonwood, weighing in at 10lbs total (each was around 3lbs)

    Cottonwood is 16,800,000 btus per cord. A dry cord is 2225lbs. That works out to 7550btus per lb, 75,550 btus for the load of wood I put in.
    (To compare a 50lb load of birch would be about 370,000 btus)

    It's 6PM now (4hrs) stove is sitting at 350* and it's 78* in my house. (Too hot!)

    Edit: 12AM now and 70* in the house. Stove is cold.


    Have been giving some thought of blocking the hole in the air flapper to get the stove to choke down more, thoughts?
  18. weatherguy

    weatherguy Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,729
    Loc:
    Central Mass
    I wouldnt worry about it, Ive done it once or twice, I was actually sitting at my desk reading hearth when it happened.
  19. rdust

    rdust Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795
    Loc:
    Michigan
    What's your stove top temp on "1" after an hour or so? Mine is usually in the 300* range once the load settles in. I can't imagine roasting myself out of here in those temps with a 300* stove top.
  20. rdust

    rdust Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795
    Loc:
    Michigan
    I half a@@ loaded the stove last night(this morning) somewhere between 2:30-3:00am after getting home. Around 6:30pm today the stove needed to be loaded and I didn't feel like loading a small load so I filled it up for my overnight load. We were in the mid 20's at best today and they're calling for low teens tonight, we'll probably be in the single digits here.

    Anyway here is how I load when I don't want to waste any space. Mostly ash with the small filler pieces being ironwood and hickory.

    Attached Files:

  21. nate379

    nate379 Guest

    400-500* area is about cruise temp for my stove without the fans on and the air choked all the way down.


  22. weatherguy

    weatherguy Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,729
    Loc:
    Central Mass
    Thats a primo fill up, how long did that bay keep you warm?
  23. TX-L

    TX-L Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    Tug Hill State Forest, NY
    My King doesn't have a hole in the flapper, my neighbor's Princess does. Not sure why the Princess is different.
  24. ohlongarm

    ohlongarm Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    723
    Loc:
    Northeastern Ohio
    Coldest last night so far 10* 5pm solid load of BL,9am today stovetop 500 still, blue gas like flames house at 73 dropped 1* during the burn cycle,the beauty of a BK.
    weatherguy likes this.
  25. rdust

    rdust Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795
    Loc:
    Michigan
    It actually screwed me up a little! I loaded at 6:30pm and knew it was gonna be cold so I loaded full! I usually load at 7am and have my wife burn it hot for a couple hours in the morning before I get up. Well she didn't turn the stove up at all this morning since the family room was plenty warm. I had to break up the wood the best I could, by the time I loaded the coal bed was up to the bottom of the door level front to back. I hate loading on a 4" plus coal bed but you have to do what you have to do. ;lol
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page