1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

25 PVDC,,,where is my proof of fire sensor?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Murphy118, Dec 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Murphy118

    Murphy118 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    NE Pennsylvania
    I've noticed over the past couple of weeks that every now and then my stove will start, make fire, then go out with an E-3 error, usually I just reset the stove, remove the semi burnt pellets, and hit start again. most of the time it starts and runs OK. lately I have noticed that it seems to take a longer time for the ignitor to actually make fire, and when it does I think that it took too long and the proof of fire sensor didn't have enough time to "see" the fire, and the board timed out,,,,,, thus an E-3.
    Funny part about the entire ordeal is that it would never do it when "I" fire it up, but has done it twice for my daughter and twice for my wife and once for my son. They know how much time and effort I put into the stove and now they are extremely paranoid about it not working that they refuse to touch it for fear that they will break "daddy's baby"!!!!!
    i have looked but cannot find any type of cliks-on or sensor in the fire box that would appear to be the "proof of fire" sensor,,,, i was thinking that maybie I am missing it in my weekly cleanings and it is all covered with ash and not doing it's job as well as it should.
    Can anyone tell me where this sesor is located??? if inded there is one,,,,,

    thanks,
    John

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. titanracer

    titanracer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Loc:
    South Central PA., Newville
    I basicly have the same stove and don't know were to find it either. I know there is one there somewhere, because I always do a stove test run in the beginning of the season, to make sure everything is working, exhaust motors, igniter, opening doors while running to making sure the vacuum switches are working (stops auger feed), & dry running it. It always shuts down on a dry run & errors out with a code (not sure what E code it is) but basicly means no pellet fuel feeding into burn.
  3. MCPO

    MCPO Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,225
    Loc:
    western Ma , close to NY state border
    As far as I know, there is only a sensor located and screwed to the inside wall (low) behind the fire box.
  4. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,995
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    the stove does not have a dedicated "proof of fire" snapdisk (actually we dont use them at all) the unit has a heat sensing "thermistor" which constantly tells the control board the temperature that the unit is operating at. if you are getting error 3 codes this sensor is seeing too much heat. the first thing i generally look at with e-3 is the room fan. over time they can get clogged up with dust bunnies pet hair ETC... pull and clean this blower , its the one located directly in front of the control board in the back of the stove. after servicing this blower refire the unit and see if the error message is gone, if its still droppiong these codes call my support staff at 800-245-6489, hours are 8-5 eastern time monday through friday
  5. Murphy118

    Murphy118 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    NE Pennsylvania
    thanks Mike,
    I will check the blower, but it was squeaky clean at the beginning of the season and I have only burned about 15 bags so far,,,,i will also double check the error code the next time it happens, I am almost positive it was an E-3,,,

    John
  6. Murphy118

    Murphy118 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    NE Pennsylvania
    Sorry gang,,,,I feel like a fool,,,,,,,it is an E-2 error,,,,,,,,not an E-3.....it didn't do it today but the Mrs. set me strait on the error code....

    John
  7. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,502
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Thats OK Murphy118,
    We all make some errors! No need to feel foolish. My dear wife sets me straight 2 to 3 times a day! ;-)
  8. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,580
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Ah yes the infamous E-2 vacuum error, well you have your choice of causes.

    They include bad gaskets, hopper not closed and latched, door not closed and latched, combustion fan on its way out, cracked or pinched vacuum line, ash in the plumbing (includes the vacuum line).
  9. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,580
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Only 2 to 3 times a day, my wife has an automated system to keep after me ;-).
  10. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,995
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    OK E-2 is a "fail to start" error. this means we did not reach "proof of fire" temp. different set of things to check. first , look at the "air on temp" setting , make sure its on 1 if not lower it to 1.

    if this isnt it may be a partially clogged igniter port causing the stove to light "late" and not get hot enough quick enough to make POF.
  11. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,502
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Does it involve being slapped in the back of the head with a heavy metal object? ;-) :cheese:
  12. Harman Lover 007

    Harman Lover 007 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,488
    Loc:
    Eastern Mass & Lakes Region of Maine
    Hey Jay...lookout!!!...duck!!!
  13. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,580
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Yes a cast iron skillet.
  14. Murphy118

    Murphy118 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Loc:
    NE Pennsylvania
    thanks again MIke!!

    i did have an issue when after cleaning during the off season, on the first test burn it failed to fire. I posted about he experience and you replied to make sure the ignitor was about 1/8" away from the opening into the burn box.... that fixed the problem as I had it seated as far in as it would go.
    I'll check that hole out, and make sure the ignitor didn't loosen up, and also check the vacuum switch line as stated in the posts.
    thanks again,,, and again,,,, and again!!!!

    John
  15. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,995
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    no biggie murph, remember the more things i can fix here the less traffic i see at work, glad i could help in this manner, if ya want to thank someone thank webby for letting me "play" in his yard. actually (and no this isnt a dig on other companies) i wish more stove makers would hang out in here. would be fun to kibbitz with them and they really would help themselfs and their companies. you guys honestly dont know how much you make me look good without my even trying. i enjoy this place as much as anywhere i frequent on the web. Craig makes it possible so he's the one who gets the biggest "atta boy" IMHO
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page