2nd break-in fire on Englander 13 - lots of smoke

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RickBlaine

Burning Hunk
Jan 12, 2014
Chicago
Howdy,

It is 65 degrees here in Chicago and all the windows are open as I burn the 2nd fire in the Englander 13. This is a "break-in" fire and lots of smoke is coming off of the top of the stove. Not a "burning wood" smell, but a "paint-curing" smell. Really stinks something fierce.

As I am new to this, just wanted to ask is this normal?

Great way to check all 11 smoke detectors in my house (1 hasn't gone off yet- hmmmm?).

On the plus side, when I can get the nerve to stop staring at the stove (again, I am new to this and don't want to leave the fire alone) I text my across the street neighbors and they give me updates on any smoke coming out of the rain cap. No smoke! I guess I am burning the 2.5 year old black locust wood efficiently.

On another "plus side", it will be down to 29 degrees here for Monday to Wednesday- so I want to get ready for a real fire....thank goodness the windows are open today. I feel like a dog- just sitting in front of the fire and staring at it. This Englander 13 is easy to operate and beautiful to look at.

Man, I love this Hearth.com forum.....I see now that many of you were not kidding when you say "Welcome to the madness".....this is madness! And I want to be committed.

Attachments

• DSC05571.JPG
    DSC05571.JPG
    191.7 KB · Views: 561
Last edited:
Reactions: ekg0477 and Ashful
Since there is no smoke coming out the chimney all of it must be going into your house!!!