A common misconception about wood stoves...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

GAMMA RAY

Minister of Fire
Jan 16, 2011
PA.
It ticks me off whenever I tell someone we have a wood stove in house they say "your house must stink"! Why do people think this? My cousin just made that comment to me because she knows someone that has one and his house smells terrible. I asked her what he is burning in it. She said everything and anything. I said that must be why. Me being a newbie I am guessing that. She said he burns garbage, cardboard etc...I read the post where Al said his first season his place had a smell from burning green wood and slow fires. Is that the reason for the smell other than burning garbage?? My house does not smell. When one of our friends came over recently he said "I am surprised it doesn't smell in here"! It drives me crazy...Just lookin for answers for the misconception.

Hey gamma

Well, lots of people who think that have simply never been to a house that heats with wood properly. Unless you have a defective stove that stinks or a poor draft that enables smoke roll out when reloading, there should be no smell. Some people even put Potpourri on the stove top in a pot with water to emit pleasant smells (like lighting a candle).

Burning garbage can certainly emit foul smells, rubber, etc as well. Some times you could be leaving a residu inside the stove that smells. It could be a million things!

Tell your cousin to come over some time when your stove is going!

Andrew