A couple of questions about drying firewood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fadetoblack72

Hearth Supporter
Aug 3, 2008
Vermont
I'm new to burning wood and live here in Vermont where there are lots of old timers who have their own opinions on things. Though I'd ask you guys what to do. I have poplar that I started cutting 2 months ago and have been splitting and stacking it as I go. Now I have 4-5 cord stacked outside uncovered and I am wondering what to do. Do I put it inside my barn? Will it still dry inside if it is stacked many rows deep? I guess the rain will stay off of it but it won't be stacked in single rows with the wind and sun going through it. How much does the rain effect it? I have a friend who keeps telling me that the stuff I cut 2 months ago will be ready to burn by october. I'm sure it will be ok but will it be better to leave it out? I priced a moisture meter @ Western Tools and it was 110. Out of my price range by a lot. Any ideas on where to get one cheaper? Also someone told me that birch is not great to burn because it has a lot of creosote. Is this true? sorry I have so many questions. I just want to do this right and I know there is a science to properly seasoning wood. Oh and someone told me that if they cut a maple tree now and just left it laying there uncut that it would be seasoned for the next year. Wouldn't it still need to be split and dried next summer?

Thanks in advance,
Jason

fadetoblack72 said: