A Little Yodel From My Jotul...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello!
Since I've been heating with wood for the past 37 years, I figure it's about time I stopped in here for a visit! I was part of the "back-to-the-land" throng in the early '70's -- who moved from the city to some (far too) remote land. I came with a VW full of tools, books, a pair of Golden Retrievers, and the strange notion that an Ashley woodstove was the only way to go. That's what happens when your main sources of information are Mother Earth News #1 and the Whole Earth Catalog...

After being nearly driven out of the small cabin I built by the oversized Ashley, I settled in with a Waterford 101 which served me faithfully for many years--even after building my present house--a small 2-storey heavily insulated frame structure with barely 800 square feet of living area. For the past 18 years, I've been very cozy with a Jotul Alpha stove: a catalytic convection-type heater which evenly heats the entire house in style.

f_Jotulm_296a4e0.jpg