Seeking Stove Size Suggestions - Considering replacement of 1984 Jotul spin draft 8

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Tobin

Dec 10, 2022
Wisconsin
I've been heating with a Jotul spin draft 8 for many years, and it's been a really great stove. I'm looking into more fuel efficient options, and I would like slightly more heat output. It's size currently fits our needs 95% of the time. I see square foot and BTU information for the later Jotul Series 8, but haven't been able to find much information on the older first generation stove. The heating space is kind of unusual. The stove and a Jotul C350 fireplace insert are located in a basement. I'm located in Wisconsin at about 1,300 elevation and on top of a hill. (Strong draft) House construction is all masonry and it's 101 years old. Basement exterior walls have some interior insulation on the north and east sides. The south and west sides are garages and storage rooms that are not regularly heated but generally maintain around 40-50 degrees. the basement is long and narrow, (80' x 20') and the room where the stove is located is 20' x 20' with a 10' ceiling. The adjacent room where the fireplace is located has an 8' ceiling, and there is a 4' wide doorway connecting the rooms. Stairway to the first floor is on the far east side of the house, and opposite the wood stove room.

General info

-Heating 3,200 Sq.Ft. total (1,600 basement, 1,600 first floor)
-25' x 7" insulated stainless steel woodstove chimney is inside an 11" square masonry flue, and not on an exterior wall.