1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Accentra feed rate vs heat output

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by MinnesotaRX, Oct 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MinnesotaRX

    MinnesotaRX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    Sartell, MN
    Hello all,

    New to this forum, but I've been a-lurking and have been thoroughly impressed. I've done searches for my question but everything seems to skirt the edges of what I'd like to know.

    I just started using my new Accentra insert and what I was wondering is this: when the area I'm heating gets too damn hot, if I turn the blower down, does the stove adjust the feed rate to compensate and auger less in, or am I wasting pellets? I haven't been able to burn enough to set up my own scientific experiment to determine if I'm using less or not. I assume I don't want to mess with the feed rate at these times due to problems with combustion and such?

    I'm running the stove on stove temp setting with the feed motor set at 4.

    Thanks for any help. I'm just trying to understand the inner workings of this beast.

    Jason

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. djarseneault

    djarseneault Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    234
    Loc:
    Eastern Connecticut
    Instead of turning the blower down turn the temp dial down.
    Better yet use it in room temp mode, set the temp dial for the temp you want the room to be leave the blower dial between H and L leave the feed adjuster on 4 and let the stove do its magic. That way you will only burn what you need for pellets.
  3. Souzafone

    Souzafone Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Loc:
    Freetown, Massachusetts
    What Parrot says is correct. The feed rate does not determine the heat, the temp knob does. The feed rate will adjust down automatically when used on room temp. The same holds true for the blower, it will automatically lower once it's reached temp.
  4. MinnesotaRX

    MinnesotaRX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    Sartell, MN
    Thanks for the advice fellas, I'll give that a try.

    Jason
  5. camdids

    camdids Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Loc:
    Very North and Very East Mass.
    All correct. Set the stove for room temp. As long as you have the room sensor Connected , the sensor outside the stove to a point away from the stove, set for Room Temp Between L and H and not as Stove temp. Set the Feed Rate at 3.5. the Switch to Auto. Turn it on and all will be warm.
    good Luck

    Just thought, If your getting too hot in this setting, adjust your temp down. I have mine between 70 and 75 and thats hotter than I've been in years.
  6. tmiraglia

    tmiraglia New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Loc:
    Philadelphia
    Minnesota, if you decided to run your stove on Stove Temp, I would offer the following: If you run the stove on Stove Temp, if the room is too warm, turn the temp dial down -- which is the feed rate when it's on Stove Temp. If you only turn your blower down, you are burning pellets at the same rate. I mess with the blower speed a lot because I find it noisy on its higher speeds.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page