1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Advice needed on BK thermometer

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by weatherguy, Mar 4, 2012.

  1. weatherguy

    weatherguy Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Loc:
    Central Mass
    I ordered a new condor theremo for my BK princess insert, I figured since I cant burn til my new cat comes in Ill do some maintenance. The original thermo is a bear to get in an out through the grill so I wanted one with a smaller face so I could get it out to clean it now and then. The original has a 2 inch face and 2 inch stem, the new one has an 1 1/2 inch face and a 2 1/2 inch stem, I could cut it if I have to but it seems to me it doesnt matter what the length is because it just rests against the cat, anyone know?

    heres the new one

    [​IMG]


    I also found out my door was pretty loose, it didnt pass the dollar bill test so I adjusted it, who knows how long I was burning like that, now its adjusted all the way so I hope it stays where it is for a while, the gasket is in good shape so no need to replace.

    I think if I got a thinner nut, like a jam nut I could gain another 1/8 inch or so on the door adjustment if I need to but Ill worry about that later.

    The cat should be here tomorrow, cant wait to get burning again with the adjustments. I ordered a new cat last week and it was in on my door step tuesday, I was excited so I took the old cat out and it crumbled as it came out so no way I can use it anymore, I open the new one and its the wrong size, the company had it listed wrong on their website so I has to exchange it for the correct size.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. fdegree

    fdegree Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    396
    Loc:
    Southern Delaware
    Yes, I'm fairly certain it can be cut to your needed length. Here is a thread where cmonSTART mentioned he cut his:
    Catalytic thermometer died already.
    But, I doubt it is necessary as long as the entire stem is inside.
  3. weatherguy

    weatherguy Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Loc:
    Central Mass
    I read that thread but I wasnt sure if my model is different. Im pretty sure I can leave it the way it is the more I look at it, its just a matter of being able to get it in and out without a problem and with the smaller face its no problem. I also wanted to know what the temp is so I got one with numbers, maybe I can extend the life of the new cat.
    I hope the new cat slides in easily, I know ecovalieur had trouble with his new cat but he got his from a different seller, I got the one already wrapped in gasket, hopefully by this time tomorrow Im warm again.
  4. northroadak

    northroadak New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Loc:
    Nikiski, Alaska
    The grille on my Princess insert lifts right off, making it easy to pull the thermometer for cleaning., or to put a small kettle on top of the stove.
  5. weatherguy

    weatherguy Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Loc:
    Central Mass
    My friend who helped me with the install put the grill on, I thought it was screwed or bolted on, I havent really looked at it, is there a screw or two to take it off? I wanted a thermo with numbers anyway but wouldnt mind putting a kettle on for moisture.
    Have you ever replaced your cat? Im doing mine this week, hope it goes smooth.
  6. northroadak

    northroadak New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Loc:
    Nikiski, Alaska
    Mine has 2 screw holes in the rear of the grille, which go into the surround. screws were never installed, and it makes it easy to just lift the grille off.
  7. Todd

    Todd Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9,226
    Loc:
    Lake Wissota
    I don't know if I like that new Condar cat probe, it only goes up to a bit over 1600. I wonder if they recalibrated the older thermometer that use to read up to 2000? I have been told temps over 1600 start to degrade the cat but occassional spikes up to 1800 can happen and shouldn't hurt.

Share This Page