advice on Avalon Rainier wood insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

daisydiggins

Jun 5, 2008
Southern RI
Hi , I'm a newbie here I posted earlier and it never showed up.Oh well. I am looking to purchase a wood insert. The salesman suggested the Medium size Avalon Rainier insert. Can anyone give me some pros and cons on this unit? I have searched the internet and came up with nothing. The stove itself is 2,000.00 with the liner, install etc, it comes to 3,400. Does that sound like it's in the ballpark price wise?
Thanks for your help in advance

You put the first post in the "Suggestion Box" part of the Forum where it is resting comfortably.

The price for the Rainer insert, liner and installation are not out of line.

There are several Rainiers in our area, not including the mountain. It's a good stove.

Thanks for your help. Do you know of a website that could give me the pros and cons of the insert? 3,400 is a lot for us , I want to make sure I make the right choice.

Thanks again,
Cathy

Thank you for those links. They were VERY helpful. Reading one of the post, I think I might go with the Olympic. It's a bit bigger and has more burn time. I'll have to check out the measurements to see if it will even fit.

Thanks again for your input and info

Avalon makes a solid product. I think there are many Rainier owners on board as well as many of us Olympic owners. They Olympic is a gem that throws some serious heat.