1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

aluminum flex tube

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by slls, Jun 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. slls

    slls Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,457
    Loc:
    central maine Lat 45
    Where would I find small diameter tubing for my out side air inlet. Dryer is way too big.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. MCPO

    MCPO Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,225
    Loc:
    western Ma , close to NY state border
    If it`s more than 6 ft you should consider using the 4" flexible aluminum dryer hose from Home depot then reducing it at the stove. It comes in 15 and 50 ft lengths.
    John
  3. slls

    slls Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,457
    Loc:
    central maine Lat 45
    Too big, need about 2 inch, thanks for the reply.
  4. Xena

    Xena Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Loc:
    South Shore MA
    I'd try an auto parts store.
  5. slls

    slls Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,457
    Loc:
    central maine Lat 45
    Yes, I guess people are buying the air intake kits.
  6. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,371
    Loc:
    Kinsman, Oh 44428 Brookfield, Oh 44403
    Save your money and get the dryer vent if you think you need it. So far I have not found a house that needs the fresh air intake for a stand alone stove. I am not saying they are not out there but save your money for pellets. You will need it.

    Eric
  7. MCPO

    MCPO Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,225
    Loc:
    western Ma , close to NY state border
    I`m inclined to agree even though I did install a 4" fresh air supply to my stove.
    Theoretically it does make sense to install a fresh air supply and I can understand why it`s recommended , but few older houses are that tight where it would become a factor.
    That said, I`d be very concerned if my house was built in the past few years where the newer codes require tighter seals and less heat loss followed by stricter inspections and enforcements than prior years have been.
    John
  8. Steveo

    Steveo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Loc:
    Maine
    My house is as tight as they come. It is only 3 years old and this house is actually to tight. I will be installing the fresh air intake.
  9. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,990
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    we carry it in 6 ft lengths , actually we have a kit for that available as well here's a link this is for the kit:
    http://www.englanderstoves.com/store/25-PDVC_Parts.html#112
    the hose itself isnt on the website but can be ordered part # is pu-fah.

    hope this helps ya
  10. slls

    slls Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,457
    Loc:
    central maine Lat 45
    Thanks for the reply, what is the price on the pu-fah.
  11. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    5,990
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    i dont have it handy(im at home) , i'll look it up when i get to work tomorrow and let ya know.

    EDIT , cost of the pu-fah is 21.45 plus shipping
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page