1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Ambient Technologies WWTA Wireless Prog. Thermostat

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by richkorn, Sep 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. richkorn

    richkorn Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    609
    Loc:
    SE CT
    My stove (Lopi Leyden) will be installed next Tuesday and I don't want to run the wiring to hook up the tstat that comes with it. I've read up on the Skytech ones and also really like the wall-mount Ambient Technologies WWTA (or WWTD) Models.

    There's a handheld wireless available from Lopi (probably some sort of rebadged Skytech or something) and the receiver connects directly to the two tstat terminals inside the stove--but I don't want a hand-held...

    Does anyone know if this AT WWTA would easily install the same way, just the two terminals wires to the stove without any other 24v converter or anything else like that???

    http://www.ambienttechnologies.com/productInfo/display.php?product=50

    The WMTA can be had for < $100

    Thanks!

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. imacman

    imacman Guest


    Nice looking units....why don't you shoot them an email or call the tech support number (800-398-6195) and explain what you'd like to use it for, and see what they say. If they will work for our stoves, post the info back on the forum.
  3. richkorn

    richkorn Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    609
    Loc:
    SE CT
    I already emailed them and haven't received a reply yet. I'll post when I do. The literature for these two tstat models say support millivolt or 24 volt.
  4. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Based on that, theoretically they should work.
  5. hossthehermit

    hossthehermit Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,370
    Loc:
    Maine, ayuh, by gorry
    WOW!!! Another remote to lose!!!!! Why would anyone want a wireless remote with a pellet stove????? You gonna temp surf while you channel surf, talk on the cell phone, play guitar hero, and text your girlfriend on your Blackberry??? I must be gettin' old.
  6. richkorn

    richkorn Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    609
    Loc:
    SE CT
    You didn't read my post and look at the link for the tstat, this is a WALL MOUNTED tstat :exclaim:

    i.e., it mounts on the wall but there are no wires connected to it like my boiler honeywell's. ;-)

    Also, I very rarely talk on my cell phone, I play DRUMS (http://www.geocities.com/atfmusic), I'm married, don't care for a Blackberry, and I'm old too!!!

    GET IT??? ;-P
  7. hossthehermit

    hossthehermit Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,370
    Loc:
    Maine, ayuh, by gorry
    Did not mean to offend, most humble apologies. BTW, you are correct, I generally don't click links. Not familiar with them new-fangled things up here in woods - booger land. "old too", or "too old"?
  8. peterpski666

    peterpski666 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Loc:
    Limerick, Maine
    Keep us posted on which t-stat you get, I have the same stove and want to do the same thing. Stove installed about a month ago and working great so far. Worst part of the install was lifting that 400# monster out of the crate.
  9. firewarrior820

    firewarrior820 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    265
    Loc:
    auburn maine
    your link shows a guy holding a remote so there is a remote to lose.
  10. richkorn

    richkorn Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    609
    Loc:
    SE CT
  11. firewarrior820

    firewarrior820 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    265
    Loc:
    auburn maine
    click on literature ,,who should i believe you or my lying eyes.
  12. DiggerJim

    DiggerJim Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    497
    Loc:
    Northcentral Connecticut
    Click on Literature. Read brochure. Get to page 5 and read that the WWTA and WWTD are "Wall Mounted Remotes". Or click on Owners Manual and read the details on how to install a WWTA or WWTD on a wall.

    You could punish your eyes for lying to you by poking a sharp stick in them. That would teach 'em.
  13. firewarrior820

    firewarrior820 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    265
    Loc:
    auburn maine
    no really, :bug: it comes with a remote
  14. DiggerJim

    DiggerJim Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    497
    Loc:
    Northcentral Connecticut
    No kidding. That's the point - it's a wall-mounted remote. What it doesn't come with is a handheld remote which was your original issue. If you think it does, where does this say that (this is a screenshot of pg 5 of that Literature link you referred to; not that it's relevant as the only thing the OP was asking about was the wall-mounted remote which you took exception to)?
    [​IMG]

    When I couldn't read what was in front of me, I got progressive lenses. Helped a lot.
  15. hossthehermit

    hossthehermit Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,370
    Loc:
    Maine, ayuh, by gorry
    xpellet, we don't get that channel this far away from the city
  16. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Richkorn and Digger,

    I'm not sure who's eyes should be poked out by a sharp stick, but the literature at the company website DOES show a hand operating a "remote control". While it may have a wall bracket for a remote unit too, you CAN get the type of remote like for a TV, etc.

    If you guys are arguing over which pic to look at, the handheld remote was in the very first pic of the literature, and the wall mount was shown farther down.

    In the end, who really cares???? If the guy wants another remote, that's up to him.
  17. firewarrior820

    firewarrior820 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    265
    Loc:
    auburn maine
    ha ha
  18. richkorn

    richkorn Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    609
    Loc:
    SE CT
    I would believe that the "Remote" that the hand is holding is not the unit that I am talking about.

    Granted, it is a wireless tstat, and therefore working "remotely". but the WWTA/WWTD is, and is designed, as a wall mounted wireless tstat. Now if you don't want to mount it and prefer holding it, you can do that i suppose.

    Again, this link below is the unit (WWTA). It comes with 2 pieces, a wall mounted xmitter, and a receiver unit. The 'Remote' that the hand is holding in the PDF Brochure is a different 'wireless remote (hand-held)'
    http://www.ambienttechnologies.com/productInfo/display.php?product=50

    Either way, the Manufacturer never contacted me back. Skytech did get back to me the same day though with a response about their's.
  19. richkorn

    richkorn Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    609
    Loc:
    SE CT
    Oh, and thanks for all the responses. It looks like it should work just fine.
  20. slink

    slink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Loc:
    Western NY
    They work by radio signals and require battery power to work. I have installed a few in gas stove applications and they work very well until the batteries die and the customer calls. Just remember to check the batteries first if you find the stove won't turn on.
  21. richkorn

    richkorn Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    609
    Loc:
    SE CT
    slink - would you have a preference of either a receiver that plugs in (110v) or one that runs on batts? I was thinking i'd plug the stove into a surge protector strip anyway, so the receiver could plug into that also if I get a 110v one and not one that runs on batts.

    Thanks!
  22. DiggerJim

    DiggerJim Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    497
    Loc:
    Northcentral Connecticut
    I'd go with the AC version - if the power's out you're going to be running it off of a generator or UPS anyway so the added load for the t-stat isn't a big deal and you're also likely to be running it in manual mode then anyway so as to save the igniter load on your UPS or generator. Batteries don't get you anything in this installation and cause a potential problem area (e.g. like Slink said, batteries run down and you think something else is wrong).
  23. slink

    slink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Loc:
    Western NY
    I would probably stick to the battery version. From what I have seen you should only go through one or two sets of batteries a year. Just make sure you have a fresh set. The batteries aren't using power all the time just during turn on or turn off switching.
  24. DiggerJim

    DiggerJim Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    497
    Loc:
    Northcentral Connecticut
    How does it "know" to turn on or off if it's not using power to be "listening" for the signal?
  25. slink

    slink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    92
    Loc:
    Western NY
    The wall unit is the transmitter which sends the signal to the receiver that is wired to the stove. The transmitter sends the signal and the receiver powers the internal contacts to turn on the stove. Basicly only used power during switching the contacts on or off. Yes it does use some power "listening" for the signal but the main power draw is during switching.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page