Another new old guy here. How have I missed this site for so long??

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

WoodpileOCD

Minister of Fire
Jan 19, 2011
Central NC
Hello to everyone. Great to be here. I've been heating with wood off and on for about 20 years with an old 1980 Black Bart Model 3200 insert that I'm finally replacing. Just scored a deal and a half off of Craigslist on a 2 year old Buck Model 91. Called in some favors on manpower and am going to get it tomorrow. MAN am I excited.. If anyone has any experience with this brute (4.4 cu ft firebox) or catalyst stoves in general, I would certainly be interested in hearing from you.

I live in Mint Hill, NC in the central part of the state and the winters are pretty mild (seldom below freezing for more than a couple of days at a time) and I've been burning about 3-4 cords/yr. and looking forward to cutting that down to 2-3 with my new cat burner.

Only been 'lurking' for a few days before I had to jump into the fire so to speak. Looking forward to learning a bunch here and sharing my experiences.

Welcome to the discussions. For one, I overlooked it almost as long.

Enjoy your new cat.

Welcome
You got many varieties of wood there.
Snakes too :bug: though.

I think there are a lot of catalytic insert owners here who can answer questions once you get started. Good Luck.

Welcome, And don't feel bad just find the site myself. Wish I would have found it years ago but just wasn't suppose to be I guess. Anyway a great site with great people enjoy!!

Welcome to the forum WoodpileOCD.