Anyone here have experience with infrared heaters?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jdempsey

Feeling the Heat
Aug 21, 2011
kentucky
My sis called tonight asking about space heaters to warm her medium sized living room. I told her to try A vornado. But all she has on her mind is the eden pure knockoffs. like a duraflame,lifesmart etc. How good do they heat.

I have no experience with infrared types. She is worried the electric bill will skyrocket if she uses it 15 hrs a day. Its electric. Of course its not the cheapest. So What do you guys think?

I use a few Lasko Ceramic heaters to supplement my pellet stove. I have the units that have the digital thermostat and remote control. They do a great job in the remote areas of the house.

I like them because:
1) cool touch (safe for kids)
2) digital thermostat (program to kick in at strategic points)
3) remote control (so you can stay in bed or on the couch)
4) you can put them against the wall (intake is on front or bottom and back is cool)
5) you can get them at Sam's Club for a very reasonable price ($59-$65 but they sell out by mid-winter).

http://www.laskoproducts.com/?page_id=122

I do live in West Virginia where our electricity runs less than $0.09 per KWH so they are not too expensive to run. I have used several of them of 4-5 years with no issues. I do blow them out with an air compressor when I pack them away each spring.

jdempsey said: