Arghh! - Self Installation of Lennox Brentwood in Massachusetts???

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

PeteD

Jun 4, 2008
Here
OK.

I have made a bunch of calls to the only dealers within 20 miles (the closest is 12 miles away) of me for Lennox. All either are too busy to come to my town, are only licensed in NH, or are focusing on stoves only (quicker installs). Also, MA is instituting new regs (July 1) where a certified construction inspector must be present at the install (unless it is done by the homeowner on their own- I love the logic).

I am an engineer and pretty capable DIY'er. But:

Is it really legal to do this DIY?

If yes, will insurance company be OK, as long as building inspector signs off on install after properly getting permit?

What codes do I need to know aside from following the instructions to a T?

Will I have any prayer of getting warranty coverage from Lennox for certain issues if I DIY?

One of the dealers would deliver the stuff to me for 10% under MSRP.

I welcome any insights - I am pretty frustrated at this point....

Have you tried any local chimney sweeps? Some do installs.